I’ve been away from my blog for far too long, so here’s some random food for thought!

Having recently ventured into the realm of writing Original Fiction, I’ve discovered that although I’ve pre-planned my story, it can take a completely different turn than I initially anticipated. I have got all the details mapped out – this is going to happen in Chapter 3, this is going to happen in Chapter 5 and the story shall end with this in Chapter 25.

Then, when I’m writing, my characters start writing themselves – the plot takes twists and turns I hadn’t planned, and before I know it, the chapters are off on a completely different tangent and my story is continuing way past Chapter 25.

That, of course, is a hypothetical example. Yet, I’m sure one or more of us have faced these scenarios sometime or other while writing. I certainly have, be it while writing my novel, or a short story, or even just an article.

After much reflection, what I’ve learnt is this. You might think it’s a bad thing that you’re going completely off-direction, that you don’t know anymore where your plot is headed or what your characters are turning out to be – but is it really a bad thing?

In the end, the keys can’t type for themselves or your pen can’t write for itself. It is your own brain (and heart) behind it, so instead of trying to cling to the plan, I’d say, let it flow – let the creativity break through the carefully planned barriers and let the imagination run wild. Because sometimes, that’s what a story needs. Not just stories, in fact – any piece of writing.

As Albert Einstein rightly said, “Logic will get you from A to Z; imagination will get you everywhere.”

2 thoughts on “When the story writes itself…

Leave a Reply

