When people think Scotland, they think of mountains and countryside and beauty. They’re not wrong. Scotland is one of the most beautiful places I’ve visited – my two day trip consisting of touring the city of Edinburgh and Loch Ness in Iverness.

My first stop was to visit the Royal Yacht Britannia in Edinburgh. It is one of the most famous tourist attractions there – a large ocean liner used by Britain’s royal family on official state visits for more than 40 years. There was so much to explore on the yacht from the Queen’s bedroom, dining room, kitchens to the engine room, laundry room and crew cabins.

DSC_0148
Partial view of the huge yacht.
DSC_0027
English tea and cake on deck.
DSC_0047
The Queen’s bedroom on deck.
DSC_0099
The Royal Dining Room on deck.
DSC_0059
View from the deck.

After that, our next stop was Camera Obscura and World of Illusions which was another interesting experience. It was a gallery with various light and optical illusions that my sister and I had fun playing around with. It was also quite close to the Edinburgh castle which we had a look at afterwards before strolling down the city lanes for some final exploration.

DSC_0160
View of the city from the top of Camera Obscura & World of Illusions.
DSC_0217
One of the many illusions inside.
DSC_0268
Scottish man playing the bagpipes on the streets.

The next day, I set off for Loch Ness, exploring Iverness along the way. The scenic beauty of the route rivalled the beauty of the destination itself. I felt like I had landed in a movie as I passed by beautiful snow covered mountains, picturesque green landscapes, grazing sheep and the infamous countryside of Scotland.

DSC_0008
Captured during the really quick photo stop on the way.
DSC_0028
That picture perfect scene.
DSC_0013
In awe of the Scottish Highlands.

Of course, the final destination – Loch Ness & Urquhart Castle – was nothing short of amazing either. The lake stretched on for miles and miles, and though I didn’t find Nessie the Loch Ness monster lurking around, I sure found a lot of peace and serenity in the beauty that surrounded me. Ranging all the way from the Castle ruins to the lake and its islands, it was indescribable beauty at its best.

DSC_0048
Urquhart Castle in front and Loch Ness on the left.
DSC_0096
Urquhart Castle from top with Loch Ness behind it.
DSC_0079
Loch Ness.
DSC_0099
Taking in the beauty.
DSC_0119
Definitely one of the most memorable views and moments of my life.

Scotland certainly lived up to its word. I loved every moment spent there and only wish I could go back in time to keep reliving the beauty over and over again, especially of the Highlands & Loch Ness. It surely made for a beautiful and spiriting trip, and even a hundred pictures would fail to capture the essence of my time there – yet I have tried.

One thought on “The Joys of Travel – Edinburgh and Iverness

Leave a Reply

