When did I grow out of eating candies and stick ice creams
instead choosing to settle for diet cokes and cups of corn,
when did I stop savoring my favorite sweet tastes
and began worrying about the pounds I put on?

When did I grow out of wearing what I first saw in the closet
instead starting to stop and evaluate my look in the mirror,
when did I stop considering my comfort in attires
and began worrying about my ‘public figure’?

When did I grow out of inane talking for hours on end
instead deciding to pick my words carefully during conversations,
when did I stop speaking for the sheer joy of discourse
and began worrying about words and their implications?

When did I grow out of laughing easily and openly
instead preferring to give chuckles brief and smiles small,
when did I stop living so carefree and blithe
and began worrying about the names they’d call?

When did I grow out of crying for cuts and bruises
instead choosing to hide my scars and blink back the tears,
when did I stop expressing my pain to those I loved
and began worrying about exposing to the world my fears?

When did I grow out of dreaming for princes and knights
instead starting to think of love as a mere fantasy,
when did I stop hoping for fairytale endings
and began worrying about deceit and fallacy?

{Composed by me}
2 thoughts on “When did I grow up…?

Leave a Reply

