Today, I would like to share a little something here that has brought me a sense of pride and accomplishment.  A few days ago, some of my “work” got published in a magazine. It was a couple of reviews that I wrote as a freelance content writer for the MYC Malaysia (a Malaysian youth magazine) and I couldn’t have been happier to see them get published and receive my first proper “salary”. It is a small step but it means a lot to me since I’ve never written for a magazine before, or any published entity for that matter, and as a writer, this baby step is a milestone in my journey.

This ordeal has given me a valuable experience of professional writing, a cherished memory of my first published work, a proud moment of earning something from my own hard work, and most importantly, immense happiness that only an aspiring writer can feel.  It has also taught me that opportunity does knock on your door at times, a statement that I never truly believed in. It has also made me strong and confident, and given me the motivation to keep going, to keep working hard towards my goal, to not give up.

Thank you God, Mom, Dad, Dee (my sister), and my lovely friends for believing in me, encouraging me, and supporting me at all times. I couldn’t have done it without you.

If you want to have a look at what I’ve written, grab the MYC! Magazine October 2013 issue and look for “Top 5 Technological Horror Movies”, “Music Reviews October”, “Top 5 Must Read Sci-Fi books”, and “Phones of 2013.”

If you’re not in Malaysia, you can read the same online at http://issuu.com/salient/docs/myc__octorber_issue2013 – pages 38-39, pg 44, and pg 52. 

One thought on “Pride and Accomplishment

Leave a Reply

